Governing Body

Washburn voters, at large, elect a 4-person Commissioners and a President of the Commission to serve as the City's legislative and governing body. The members serve 4-year terms and they elect one Commissioner as Vice President for two years. Municipal elections are held in June in even-numbered years. The terms of the Commission members are staggered so that two are elected in one year and two plus the President of the Commission are elected two years later. If a vacancy occurs, the Commission appoints a new member to serve out the unexpired term. 

The President of the Commission presides over meetings, calls special meetings, makes some appointments to advisory boards and serves as the ceremonial head of government. The Vice President of Commission substitutes whenever the President of Commission is unavailable. 

The City Commission appoints the City Director, the Director of Finance, the City Assessor, and members of major policy-making Boards and Commissions. The clerk represents the Commission to the public during regular business hours, notifying citizens of Commission meetings and maintaining public records of the meetings. The Commission makes policy in the areas of city planning and finances, human development, public safety and justice, public utilities, and transportation. It has specific powers to pass ordinances, levy taxes, collect revenues, adopt a budget, make appropriations, issue bonds, borrow money, and provide for the payment of public debts. 

Regular meetings of the Washburn City Commission are held the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in City Hall (907 Main Avenue); however, due to scheduling are sometimes held on alternative dates. All meetings are open to the public. Agendas of regular Commission meetings are available in advance from the City Office. All speakers must be placed on the agenda by Friday noon, the week prior to the meeting. Upon written or phone request, City personnel will answer questions about Commission business and add items to meeting agendas.

The Commission meets on the 2nd Monday of every month at 6:30 pm at City Hall (907 Main Ave.)

For a list of City Employees, click here.